Tales n’ Tactics map generation and (simplex) noise

I’ll start by saying that Tales n’ Tactics is a turn-based strategy game in a top-down perspective, which is under development by Henrik Forsman and myself.

In this post I’ll go through some of the challenges, methods and experiences I’ve accumulated while working on the map generation of Tales n’ Tactics.

When I started writing the first lines of codes, on what is (hopefully) going to be a full-fledged strategy game, I was faced with numerous challenges…How do I deal with fog of war, path-finding, smart AI and many other things. These were all things I’d get a larger insight to.

In one of the earliest versions of the game I just went through each cell in the grid and filled it with a random object. It could be a forest, mountain, ocean, whatever. There were no complexity or logic in the actual generation just randomly plotted land, which resulted in a dreadful map…
Continue reading